The Architecture of Cupcakes

image via: mikeroweworks

Ever since that Sex and the City scene aired, where Carrie and Miranda were having a cupcake outside Magnolia’s Bakery in New York, the cupcake trend has become so big that it has established a whole industry. Interestingly, cupcakes do not owe their massive popularity to the way they taste, which is exactly the same as a piece of cake. Ultimately, the cupcakes’ success is due to their architecture.

Cupcakes are the culinary equivalent of very photogenic contemporary buildings, whose design is defined solely by their flashy façades. Eye catching objects whose content is irrelevant as their purpose is solely to create an impulsive impression. A cupcake’s wrapping hides the actual cake that is its mundane looking foundation, leaving only its flamboyant frosting to be visible. What’s underneath does not matter, nor does the relationship between the top and bottom. Furthermore, the cake-frosting ratio is non proportional, making cupcakes a bit impractical to eat. Form is definitely over function.

Although a cupcake’s original context was a suburban house party for children, it is no coincidence that the cupcake craze started in New York and it developed primarily in urban areas. The frequently non-intimate scale of a metropolis contradicts that of a cupcake, whose scale indicates that it is personal and not for sharing. A cupcake is individualistic and comforting; you can have your cake and eat it too.

Moreover, the trend started to take off around the same time that the economy started to fall. Big splurges were substituted with little indulgences and the cupcake is one filled with nostalgia. Quite appropriately, the world’s first cupcake ATM was recently built in California; instead of money it directly delivers a little piece of culinary indulgence, briefly taking us back to our childhood, when everything seemed less complicated, innocent and in technicolour…

Carrie and Miranda having a cupcake outsite Magnolia’s Bakery in NY

Cupcakes for architects. Image via: TheCakingGirl

The Anatomy of a Cupcake. Image via: thesweetestoccasion
Image via: thesweetestoccasion

Constructing a Cupcake. Image via: architette

image via: archinect

36 responses

  1. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be helpful to read through articles from other writers and practice something from their web
    sites.

  2. I truly love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own blog and would love to find out where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Cheers!

  3. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it

    • Hi thanks for your comment. I would suggest starting with finding a topic you really enjoy. If you love what your blog is about everything else will come naturally 🙂

  4. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal site now 😉

  5. I such as the treasured information you offer you inside of your content.I’ll bookmark your blog site and verify yet again here regularly.I’m particularly guaranteed I will study an awful lot of recent stuff ideal listed here! Fine luck for the next!

  6. I just want to mention I’m beginner to weblog and definitely liked your web blog. Likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You certainly have impressive articles. Cheers for sharing your blog site.

  7. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how
    can i subscribe for a weblog site? The account aided me a applicable
    deal. I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vibrant transparent
    idea

  8. I just want to mention I am just very new to blogs and honestly loved you’re web page. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have good writings. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your web-site.

  9. I simply want to mention I’m all new to blogging and really savored you’re website. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with superb articles. Thanks for sharing with us your blog site.

  10. I simply want to tell you that I am just newbie to blogging and actually enjoyed you’re website. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You surely have tremendous posts. Appreciate it for sharing with us your webpage.

  11. You choose to do excellent blog, Now i am studying it for a long time. I need to disclose this is probably the few personal blogs this i am awaiting to help fresh articles and reviews. Good work!

  12. I love your writing style truly enjoying this web site. “Only he is free who cultivates his own thoughts, and strives without fear to do justice to them.” by Berthold Auerbach.

  13. I simply want to tell you that I am just very new to blogging and actually loved this web blog. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You surely come with really good articles and reviews. Thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  14. Hi, I just hopped over to your website using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually read, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating something worthy of reading through.

  15. Pingback: LCD TV sale

Leave a Reply

